Type to search


Indian Women’s Hockey Team Strikes Gold Again at Asian Champions Trophy 2023

Share -

The Indian women’s hockey team has scripted a magnificent success story in the Women’s Asian Champions Trophy 2023, clinching the coveted gold medal for the second time in the history of the competition. The team’s awe-inspiring journey to triumph has been lauded and hailed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The grand finale of the tournament, which sealed India’s momentous achievement, unfolded on November 5, 2023, at the Marang Gomke Jaipal Singh Mundra Astroturf Hockey Stadium in Ranchi. In a display of extraordinary prowess, India secured a resounding victory against Japan, with a final score of 4-0.

In a heart-pounding showdown, the Indian women’s hockey squad showcased impeccable skills and remarkable teamwork to outshine Japan with a convincing 4-0 victory. This win marks India’s second gold medal in the Women’s Asian Champions Trophy, the previous one being achieved in 2016.

Key Highlights of Women’s Asian Champions Trophy 2023

Undefeated Streak: India’s remarkable performance was highlighted by their extraordinary achievement of securing victory in all seven matches they played during the tournament. Their flawless record underscored their dominance and unwavering determination.

Player of the Tournament: Salima Tete, hailing from Jharkhand, received the coveted title of Player of the Tournament. Her exceptional skills and contributions on the field played a pivotal role in India’s success.

Leading Goal Scorer: Sangeeta Kumari, representing the Indian team, showcased her remarkable goal-scoring prowess by notching an impressive total of six goals during the competition. Her outstanding performance was instrumental in clinching the gold medal.

Top Scorer: China’s Jiaqi Zhong emerged as the top scorer of the tournament, amassing a total of seven goals. Her incredible ability to find the back of the net shone throughout the competition.

India’s incredible goal-scoring ability was aptly recognized with the Maximum Team Goals Award. They netted a remarkable 27 goals in seven games, highlighting the team’s offensive prowess. The team’s solid defense, which allowed just two goals from penalty corners and no field goals, further accentuated their well-rounded skill set.

In a gesture of appreciation for their exceptional performance throughout the tournament, Hockey India announced a reward of Rs. 3 lakh for each member of the Indian team and Rs. 1.5 lakh for each member of the support staff. This gesture underlines the significance of the team’s victory and acknowledges the dedication of both the players and the support staff.

Jharkhand Governor CP Radhakrishnan and Chief Minister Hemant Soren extended their warmest congratulations to the Indian team for their remarkable victory. The triumphant performance in front of a home crowd added to the jubilant celebration of this remarkable achievement.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *